Alaska Arctic Policy Commission to Meet in Anchorage

For Immediate Release: December 6, 2013

Alaska Arctic Policy Commission to Meet in Anchorage

Commissioners Gather in Anchorage to discuss Arctic Policy Recommendations before start of Legislative Session 

ANCHORAGE– The Alaska Arctic Policy Commission (AAPC) will convene in Anchorage at the Dena’ina Center, Tikahtnu Room E, December 9 and 10 to continue working on a preliminary report delineating Alaska’s Arctic policy.

As part of the preliminary report, commissioners will work on a vision statement, a list of succinct statements encapsulating Alaska’s Arctic policy, and recommendations for federal and state governmental actions. The Commission will also begin developing a work plan for 2014.

“This is a very important time for the AAPC,” said Representative Herron.  “These next two days of meetings culminates the Commission’s first year long journey through the Arctic regions of our State.  Now is the time to take what we learned and build on the Commission’s hard work and craft our preliminary report to the Legislature, which is due in January.”

“Alaska is what makes the U.S. an Arctic nation and our viewpoints and policy priorities should be taken with great weight in the federal process.  America’s Arctic policy should address the needs of Alaskans.  However, the State of Alaska, as a sovereign of the federal system has an opportunity here to shape the state’s arctic policy going forward and a responsibility to make sure that policy addresses the needs of our citizens,” said Senator McGuire.

The preliminary report will be available to the public once it is delivered to the State Legislature on January 30, 2014.

The Commission was formed by the Legislature in the Spring of 2012 and has already met in Juneau, Barrow, Unalaska, and Fairbanks.  The Commission’s final report is due to the Legislature January 30, 2015.

Public testimony will be taken starting at 11:15 on December 9. The entire first day will be streamed live at  The work session on December 10 will not be streamed live, because the Commission will be working in several small groups.

Please see for a full agenda.

The Commission, made up of 26 Commissioners, including 10 Legislators and 16 experts from throughout the state, is examining several areas to develop the state’s Arctic Policy including: governance, indigenous perspectives, resource development, science and research, energy, planning and infrastructure, security, marine transportation, wildlife and fisheries.

For more information, please contact Jesse Logan in Senator McGuire’s office at  907-269-0250, Rob Earl in Representative Herron’s office at  907-269-0126 or AAPC Executive Director: Nikoosh Carlo at  (571) 766-6784.